Crankshaft and the Gear Grinders “What You Gonna Do?”

Crankshaft1

CD Review by Christine Mlodzik

I gotta confess, I’m not the biggest fan of popular music; most of it hurts my ears. But when I heard a teaser of Crankshaft’s “What You Gonna Do?,” I needed to hear more.

Crankshaft is a breath of fresh air. He’s deeply rooted in and finely spins together blazin’ blues, rockabilly, a little swing, a pinch of Hank Williams country, with some punk attitude thrown in for extra flavor. It’s a throwback to the heyday of a young Elvis Presley and the king of the surf guitar, Dick Dale.

Surprisingly, Crankshaft isn’t drowned out by these influences, quite the contrary, he draws on them, but the sound is uniquely his. I can’t even come up with a comparison to who he sounds like, because he doesn’t sound like anyone else.

While I especially loved “When The Sun Goes Down,” my favorite is “Trail Of Tears.” It’s sultry, smoky … simply devastating.

I’m not one to gush about a CD – I tell you what I hear and let you make the decision to buy, but I highly recommend you buy this one. “What You Gonna Do?” is a rare CD in which there isn’t one bad song on it and boasts a pretty damn cool sound.

www.crankshaftmusic.com

Crankshaft CD and Vinyl Release Party:
Saturday, February 9, 2013, 9:00PM Show
$6 Cover
Famous Dave’s
3001 Hennepin Ave.
Minneapolis, MN 55408
(612) 822-9900

Leave a Reply

